Upcoming Election

Annual Town/School Election

March 7, 2017

The following positions will be on the ballot in March 2017

  • Selectboard, 2 Year, currently held by Marc Landry
  • Selectboard, 3 Year, currently held by Herb Downing
  • Moderator, 1 Year, currently held by Scott Barrett
  • School Board, 2 Year, currently held by Curt Taylor
  • School Board, 3 Year, currently held by James Lincoln White
  • Library Trustee, 5 Year, currently held by Betsy Ferry
  • Lister, 3 Year, currently held by Hugh Bemis
  • Town Clerk/Treasurer, 2 Year, currently held by Karen Richard 

How to Run for Office

To run for any of the above mentioned offices you need to submit a petition stating the position and its length of term for which you want to run, along with the signatures of 30 registered voters. We cannot accept petitions that do not state the term of office. If you have questions or would like blank petitions please contact the Town Clerk’s Office at the phone number below. The deadline to submit a petition is 5 pm on Monday, January 30, 2017.

About LIsters:
  • 3 elected Listers
  • Independent elected officials
  • Comprise the Board of Assessment that hears assessment grievance appeals
  • Board of Assessment typically meets 3 to 4 days a year in June
  • Part of the Board of Abatement; with the Select Board and all elected Justices of the Peace they may abate taxes for certain statutory reasons
  • Board of Abatement typically meets once a year in the month of June.
About the Moderator:
  • Serves once a year at Town Meeting
  • Keeps meeting on agenda and maintains civility and order
For more information on any of these offices you may contact the Town Clerk's office at 264-5520.