Justices of the Peace

The Justices of the Peace

Justices are elected every two years in November. Their terms begin on February 1st and end January 31st. 

Duties of a Justice of the Peace

The responsibilities of Justices of the Peace fall into five categories:

    • Elections

      Justices of the Peace are members of the Board of Civil Authority (BCA). Members of the BCA serve as election officials at Town and statewide elections by Australian ballot. They also are responsible for delivering absentee ballots to voters during elections.
    • Tax Abatement and Appeals

      Justices of the Peace sit as members of the Town Board for Abatement of Taxes to determine whether a taxpayer's tax obligation should be forgiven under certain circumstances. Justices of the Peace serve an important role in the Town's tax appeal process. As a member of the Board of Civil Authority, Justices hear and decide appeals when a citizen disagrees with a final decision of the Board of Listers.
    • Marriages

      Justices of the Peace may solemnize marriages in Vermont.
    • Oaths and Notary

      Justices of the Peace may administer oaths in all cases where an oath is required, unless prohibited by a specific law. A Justice of the Peace is a Notary Public ex officio if the VT education and registration requirements have been met. 
    • Magistrate

      Justices of the Peace may serve as a magistrate when so commissioned by the Supreme Court.

Current  Justices of the Peace (February 1, 2021 - January 31, 2023)